Unimpressive Brunch at Chez Francois in Canmore

The reviews for Chez Francois in Canmore were mixed. After we tried the restaurant, I could understand why: in a nutshell, we liked the food, but we were not at all impressed with the place. For a two-persons brunch, the bill came to $32 (tip and gst included).

Chez Francois is located in Canmore; you cannot miss it, since it’s right on the exit from TransCanada (1602 Bow Valley Trail Canmore). The restaurant is right by a motel, which is probably why it looks like any other motel restaurant or diner you’ve seen. The name is a bit misleading: if you expect the French bistro type, you’re in for a disappointment.

We (a party of two) tried the restaurant for a late brunch. I am a fan of smoked salmon, so I tried the salmon half bagel ($10.95) and my party ordered the smoked salmon and egg benedict dish ($9.95).  The size of the dish was decent, but may not satisfy those used with loads of potatoes added to their meal. The potato chips were really tasty and the fruits on the side were surprisingly ripe.

I really have no complaints about the food (you cannot really go wrong with smoked salmon bagel…), but I am not going to go back. If I am spending $30 for a brunch, I would rather eat in a fancier place.

Smoked Samon Bagel

Restaurant

Restaurant

Chez Francois on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Unimpressive Brunch at Chez Francois in Canmore

  1. Merry120 says:

    I know what you mean about the decor but Chez Francois is our favorite place for brunch. I find the eggs benedict much, much better than at other places in Calgary. I also have a 3 year old so I appreciate the more casual feel of Chez Francois. I’ve eaten at many places in Calgary which are just as expensive with worse food.

Leave a Reply

