New to Cooking? A List of Must-Have Food Items for Your Kitchen

This is my must-have food items list for the kitchen. It is based on a European cooking style, so take it with a grain of salt particularly when it comes to spices. If I have these items in the house, I can always cook a tasty meal in minutes.  I have everything I need here for a fruit salad or a tasty apple with biscuits. I can make a rice meal or quickly prepare some deviled eggs.
Spices (dry) Non-perishable Perishable
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Parsley
  • Dill
  • Oregano
  • Basil
  • Thyme
  • Rosemary
  • Cinnamon
  • 1 bottle vanilla essence
  • Olive oil
  • Sunflower oil
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Cooking wine
  • Rum
  • Sundried tomatoes
  • White flour
  • Sugar
  • Powder milk
  • Semolina
  • Honey
  • Social biscuits
  • Raisins
  • Walnuts
  • Pasta
  • Rice
  • Dry yeast
In the freezer:

  • Fruits (blueberries, strawberries, raspberries)
  • Icecream
  • Peas
  • Green beans
  • Meat
  • Uncooked shrimps

In the fridge:

  • Eggs
  • Milk
  • Butter
  • Margarine
  • Yogurt
  • Sour cream
  • Cheese (Feta)
  • Mustard
  • 2-3 Lemons
  • Potatoes or Carrots
  • Bell peppers
  • Green onion
  • 1 jar Cherries in Syrup
  • Ketchup
  • 1 jar Tomato Sauce

In a cool, dark place:

  • Onions
  • Garlic
  • Tomatoes
  • Pickles
  • 1 can Sardines
  • Crackers
  • Apples
  • Oranges
  • 1 Avocado
Tagged

2 thoughts on “New to Cooking? A List of Must-Have Food Items for Your Kitchen

  1. Carrie says:

    Hi There, I came across your blog while searching the web for ANYWHERE in Calgary where I can buy Semolina Flour and see you have it listed here so you must buy it somewhere. Mercatos took pity on me and gave me some for free but they don’t sell it. I’m out of that batch and would really like to find a place to purchase it. Would you mind sharing?

  2. eatincalgary says:

    Hi there, I buy semolina from Superstore, bulk foods section. Let me know if that’s not what you are looking for.

Leave a Reply

