La Boulangerie – Bakery Cafe

20130224-114247.jpg

Pastries and coffee, La Boulangerie on 4th Street.

 

I have meant to try La Boulangerie for a long, long time! So when our friends suggested it for brunch, I was very excited! This is the type of cafe we should have every other block, including those dreadful suburbs. Then I’d finally be happy with Calgary (though I can’t promise I’d stop complaining about it!).

Since my first visit to La Boulangerie – Bakery Cafe (2435 4th Street SW), I came back every single weekend! It has become our favorite weekend afternoon tea+coffee+pastry place!

I am not sure I’d go back there for brunch, but had I lived in the neighborhood, I’d certainly be a regular. The place is not as cozy as other cafes. It only has around 10 tables and it’s harder to fit larger parties. On weekends, brunch is crazy – if you get a spot, go get a lottery ticket as well cause it’s your lucky day! I tried the salmon sandwich on a baguette (around $10), together with a hot chocolate that I loved! The sandwich was fresh, tasty but nothing to write home about.

If you go to La Boulangerie, you go for the pastries! After lunch, go there for a cup of coffee, tea or hot chocolate (or for a glass of… wait for it… freshly squeezed orange juice!). Each time you’re there, make it your mission to try a different pastry! So far, I sampled the chocolate and walnut pastry, the apple strudel ($6), and the french apricot and almond pastry ($5). If you’re getting croissants or pastries with chocolate inside, ask the staff to warm them up a bit. My current favorite is the apricot and almond pastry.

20130224-113604.jpg

Salmon baguette sandwich, La Boulangerie on 4th Street.

La Boulangerie on Urbanspoon

Tagged , ,

One thought on “La Boulangerie – Bakery Cafe

  1. [...] The Bakery/ La Boulangerie, on 4th Street SW. Go for coffee or tea, stay for the pastries! Try out sweet and savory pastries, crepes, freshly squeezed orange juice, breads, sandwiches, and the list can go on and on. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

